Boots – Botanics Facial Oil

I read somewhere this was a ‘hidden gem in a drugstore’ and the reviewer wasn’t wrong but not for the reasons you’d think.

I’ll cut to the chase. As a moisturiser, for me, this sucks, plain and simple yet I would still buy it. I’ll tell you why because although it’s ridiculously bad at keeping my skin hydrated throughout the day, it has a few other benefits. 

If you remember I was complaining about my skin post pregnancy, well this product has really helped in reducing the bumps and reducing redness. It’s made a significant difference to my skin. I’m hoping with continued use, my skin will be back to ‘normal’. 

Now that my skin seems more calm, my skin tone looks a lot more even. That’s given me a lot more confidence, as I don’t tend to reach for my foundation as much as I did a month ago. 

For extra hydration, I tried to pair it with another moisturiser to make up for that missing element. I’ve tried several moisturisers to create the right combination. In desperation, I even tried applying coconut oil after the facial oil but that was too much for my skin. I’m still trying to find a moisturiser that will work side by side with this facial oil. Currently, I’m using the Eucerin Replenishing Cream which seems to be working. However, I’m still on the lookout for something better.

The glass bottle comes with a dropper so it’s hygienic to use. For me, 5 drops are more than enough to cover my face and neck. It doesn’t have a greasy feel to it as long as it’s massaged into the skin well and it absorbs pretty quickly. Its 100% organic, with Rosehip Oil being the signature ingredient. 

I was really impressed. My skin hasn’t looked this good in a long time. I will definitely buy this again and definitely recommend it to those who have normal to dry skin. My skin leans towards the ‘drier’ side hence it struggling to keep my skin moisturised. If you’re struggling with uneven skin tone – try this out as it has really helped with my complexion. 

On a side note – Boots sell another facial oil that has great reviews – so I am probably going to look into that too. As always, I will keep you posted. 

Leave a Reply

